Do You Design?

Both of us do some pattern design from time to time. Neither one of us finds it too terribly difficult. I think one of the hardest parts of pattern design is getting it ready for others to use. However, if you are making a pattern strictly for your own use, it really isn’t that hard.

So, I have a question…have you ever created your own quilt or craft pattern?

If so, here are some other questions…

  1. What did you design?
  2. How did you go about it? Did you just sketch out a preliminary idea? Did you use graph paper? Have you just whipped something up as you went along (this would scare the heck out of me!).
  3. Where did you get your inspiration from?

In the next couple of days I’ll be blogging about the cutest piece of wall art Sue made for her little granddaughter for Christmas. Here’s a picture of the finished project. Sue made this in an evening and so can you, I’m pretty sure. By the way, “You are my Sunshine” is one of the first songs MY little granddaughter learned to sing. It’s a favorite.Image

7 thoughts on “Do You Design?

  1. Sometimes I use graph paper. A lot of my quilts are “quilt as you go”, most of the time it works! Once in awhile there’s a blooper, but mostly it works. Inspired by nature- music – ideas – theory – architecture. I don’t have the patience to make my designs work for other people.

    Like

      • I love your work, Nan. Also, I love all the quotes you use in your blog. After reading your comment about how you design I can certainly see those aspects in your quilts. The beautiful quilts you make would be impossible to put on a piece of graph paper, I think. I especially love the quilt you have right up front near your profile, I think it is. It reminds me of a large framed print I have from the Hirshorn Gallery (Washington, D.C.). (Unfortunately, I can’t remember the artist.) I loved it because it was contemporary, colorful and almost reminded me of tissue paper overlays. Your quilt reminds me of this print. I wish I could see it closer. I’m so glad you have shared it on your blog. —Betsy

        Like

  2. I use graph paper, too. I sometimes look at classic patterns and then try to modify them for my quilting style and experience level.

    Like

    • Diane – I think I am probably more like you. For several years I have played around with designs on graph paper and thought I was very drawn to geometric shapes which the graph paper lends itself so well. My mom was an appliquer (is that a word, I wonder?) and I think that maybe she has influenced me as I tend to see full pictures/scenes in my head now. I am going to start finalizing two designs that are in my head right now – one is patchwork with just a wee bit of applique and the other is straight applique. Since I can’t decide which to do first, I’m going to do them both. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

