Sewing spaces

Our sewing spaces are as individual as each and every one of us!  But I bet many of you can identify with my sewing space except maybe Kathy my high school classmate.  She is as neat as a pin.  I’ll show you her sewing space another time.  My sewing room is a disaster but I’m hoping not for long.  Really I’m fortunate to have a dedicated room in my house for sewing BUT it needs help.  Many of you know I’ve been working on the house I purchased a year and a half ago and as you can tell I haven’t gotten to the sewing room.  I am getting closer so I wanted to be sure to show you the before shots.  What do I do if the before looks better than the after?  Heaven help me!  My plan is to strip the walls of the old paper and then paint.  I should replace the ceiling but I think I’ll leave that to the next owner after I’m dead and gone.  So it should be a simple little job.  The element I have to have is a design wall maybe just so I can see what I hope to get done someday but I thought it would be nice. Looks like tons of work to even begin to get this room organized much less painted. Wish me luck and look for the äfter”photos.

My dresser stores fabric but as you can see it is overflowing.

My dresser stores fabric but as you can see it is overflowing.

There is a cutting mat underneath all this!

There is a cutting mat underneath all this!

sewingroom 3sewingroom 4
This is where I hope my design wall will go.

This is where I hope my design wall will go.

7 thoughts on “Sewing spaces

    • I just have a tiny sewing alcove but my husband brought me a couple of large cardboard boxes with flip covers for my fabric. They are currently overflowing. I’m not sure what to do! Maybe more boxes??? LOL – Betsy

      Like

  1. Can’t wait to see the AFTER!! I made my design wall with just a piece of the foam core insulation from the home improvement store……I covered it with fabric and screwed it to my wall…..easy, and I can take it down to block quilts if I need to. I also used a bunch of those cubicle organizer shelves they are wonderful!! Good luck and happy organizing!

    Like

    • Mandy – you have great ideas. My mom used to use flannel-covered foam board, as well. My hubby bought me a 6′ design wall (portable) for my birthday when we were at Fall Festival in Houston this past fall. I love it but it’s not so convenient for me. It’s in the dining room! I don’t have room for it upstairs where my sewing alcove is and all my fabric. So I do a lot of up and down the stairs – which is really not a bad thing, I guess. And the design wall is in front of a large antique quilt that I have hanging in the dining room. If company comes, I just hide it behind the quilt. Works for me. – Betsy

      Like

  2. You should see my mess. I drag it all around because I don’t have a sewing space. It takes time to organize. At least I am working more now out of my stash. I am not in love with the fabric prints they have now in the shops. The new fabrics I guess don’t call out to me to buy. Which is a good thing because I need to reduce some of this hoard.

    Like

Leave a Reply

