“Vintage Quilt Revival” – Book Review

Okay – I loved this book and I hope to make a quilt from it or at least let the patterns be inspiration for my own design.

April’s Book Review

Vintage Quilt Revival by Katie Clark Blakesley, Lee Heinrich and Faith Jones

Vintage Quilt Revival by Katie Clark Blakesley, Lee Heinrich and Faith Jones

Book Name:Vintage Quilt Revival: 22 modern designs from classic blocks
Author: Katie Clark Blakesley, Lee Heinrich and Faith Jones
Publisher & Date: Interweave, 2013
Pages: 159 plus CD of printable templates for paper piecing projects.

I’m a sucker for vintage – I’ll admit it. I have been buying and selling vintage since 2005. That’s another story but part of the reason why I took a closer look at this book.

I also was attracted to the colors on the cover, especially the teal. A book has got to look good to get your attention, right? This one was truly successful for me.

But then I opened the book……drool…drool…drool. I absolutely loved the designs and the “modern” way these traditional designs were assembled (settings) and the exciting color choices. If you’re not quite into making a full-size quilt there are also patterns for smaller projects such as a pouch, a bag, a table runner, a mini quilt and a pillow to whet your appetite without committing to a larger quilt. If you just can’t decide which blocks are your favorites, directions are included for two sampler quilts.

You get a lot of bang for your buck. With 22 different projects and a CD that includes all the templates for the paper-pieced projects (there are 12 of them), the book is worth its price which retails for about $28. It’s also available in a Kindle version. Sue’s shop carries the book so stop in the shop or give her a call if you need a copy.

The book starts out with an assumption that you have a basic knowledge of quilting but it still reviews tools and techniques including foundation piecing and a guide to partial seams. They are brief but worth reading. Full color pictures abound.

The layout of the book is excellent and very easy to read. For each project there is:
– A full color picture of the finished project
– A full color picture of the block
– Full color piecing diagrams
– Full color layout diagram
– Easy-to-see “Finished Size,” “Technique Used,” and “Skill Level”

For example, The project, “Spiced Chai Quilt,” states it is made from a “Tea Leaf” block, lists its size , and says the technique used is “simple piecing” and the skill level is for beginners. All of this in an easy-to-read layout.

Another part of the book that I especially like is that for each project there is a “Design Note.” The designer briefly talks about the pattern and the design she has chosen and also touches on the inspiration for that design. It’s such a nice addition that makes the book so much more personable. Kind of like sharing a pattern between friends.

I would not hesitate to purchase this book. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

My favorite patterns from the book are noted here. I would love to hear which ones are your favorites. And, if you make any of the patterns, send us a picture! Maybe I can get Sue to teach me paper piecing because I really, really, really like the Spin it Again Quilt. What do you think, Sue?

Betsy’s Favorites from Vintage Quilt Revival
Sugar Snow Quilt (p. 63) – The colors are exquisite as is the quilting.
Spin it Again Quilt (p. 87) – Colorful, a pattern with movement.

Lovin’ It or Likin’ It?
Lovin’ It:
– Great photography that always shows the pieces really well
– Clear directions with lots of diagrams in color
– Big variety of patterns for all skill levels
– Patterns that are clear
– Design notes
– CD with templates for the paper-pieced blocks.

Likin’ It:
– The CD has the templates for the paper-pieced blocks (there are 12) – I don’t think everyone does paper piecing so if you want to make one of those 12 projects and you don’t paper piece, the patterns may have to be modified.

I close this post with author Lee Heinrich’s inspiration for the Sugar Snow Quilt (found in this pattern’s Design Note):

“Around the time I was designing this quilt, I spent an afternoon at my daughter’s preschool, which is also a nature center and a working maple-sugar farm. I went with the class to tap a maple tree. While there, a teacher scooped up a handful of the icy, crystalline flakes called ‘sugar snow,’ which indicate that it’s time to tap the trees. As the light caught the snow, it hit me: I wanted to make a quilt that ‘sparkled’ like that snow.” (63)

Yes, we quilters get inspired by some very beautiful things. This book is one of those things.

Comment and let us know what you think! –Betsy
And don’t forget to enter the Blog Block Giveaway!

 

3 thoughts on ““Vintage Quilt Revival” – Book Review

  1. I have been watching the reviews of this book through many many blogs. I don’t believe there is a single bad review I have read. I already love this book and I have yet to see it in person. When I do, I will probably not be able to put it back on the shelf!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

