A Little Eye Candy for your Week

Image

T e a s e ….

Keep reading, please…

I’m a quilt top lover. Are you?

I’m not talking about a contemporary UFO from someone’s workbasket. I’m talking about a UFO from someone’s workbasket from a long time ago – at least 50+ years ago. Vintage, antique—that kind of quilt top.

What is it about them that I’m drawn to? Well first of all – because they’ve never been quilted they are typically in sweet shape. They are crisp. They are vibrant. They are beautiful. They take up little space. They are mini fabric collections. They are pretty. They offer challenges in block or design identification.

Over the last few years I have bought and sold some tops and also have kept a few. I have found the best place to find tops at reasonable prices, are at country auctions. I LOVE a good country auction and the time for them to start (because of weather in our region of the universe) is upon us.

(If you want to know how to bid at an auction, maybe I will do a post on that. I have found many people are afraid to go to auctions because they don’t understand them. Auctions are easy and a lot of fun. Let me know if you think it would be a fun post and I’ll get on it.)

Do any of you collect quilt tops? If you do, what do you do with them? The ones I have sold have gone to people who either finish them into quilts or have someone do it for them, or they just collect them, like me. Do you have an opinion on this? I have heard some say that they would NEVER, EVER finish a vintage quilt top. It wouldn’t be true to the top and/or maker. Well, I have my own opinion on that.

Since it’s spring – eee gad, finally! – I thought I would share some pics from a few of the tops I have had over the last few years. I would love to hear from you. Post your comments here and share this post if you want.

 

This is a 9-patch quilt top. Crisp with great fabrics.

This is a 9-patch quilt top. Crisp with great fabrics.

Detail from the 9-patch quilt top shown above.

Detail from the 9-patch quilt top shown above.

Log Cabin, Barn Raising variation quilt top.

Log Cabin, Barn Raising variation quilt top.

Detail from the Log Cabin, Barn Raising quilt top.

Detail from the Log Cabin, Barn Raising quilt top.

Another Log Cabin, Barn Raising variation quilt top. This one was not in as pristine condition as the one shown previously. It now resides in Washington, D.C.

Another Log Cabin, Barn Raising variation quilt top. This one was not in as pristine condition as the one shown previously. It now resides in Washington, D.C.

One of my favorite quilt tops. Pristine condition. Prettier up close. I don’t remember the block name offhand.

One of my favorite quilt tops. Pristine condition. Prettier up close. I don’t remember the block name offhand.

A block detail from the quilt top shown above.

A block detail from the quilt top shown above.

Another pristine quilt top-a signature top, unsigned.

Another pristine quilt top-a signature top, unsigned.

Pristine, diagonal sash quilt top.

Pristine, diagonal sash quilt top.

Detail from the diagonal sash quilt top above.

Detail from the diagonal sash quilt top above.

I loved this Pyramid quilt top. I would date it circa 1930s. It would be a tough top to quilt as 3 edges were all in angles. It found a new home in the state of Texas. Crisp, bright, and fun.

I loved this Pyramid quilt top. I would date it circa 1930s. It would be a tough top to quilt as 3 edges were all in angles. It found a new home in the state of Texas. Crisp, bright, and fun.

 

Detail from Pyramid quilt top above.

Detail from Pyramid quilt top above.

 

A green, 9-patch quilt. Another beautiful quilt top with fantastic fabrics.

A green, 9-patch quilt. Another beautiful quilt top with fantastic fabrics.

 

Detail from the green 9-patch quilt top above.

Detail from the green 9-patch quilt top above.

 

I hope you have enjoyed this little quilt top show. If you have memories of any quilt tops found or inherited, I would love to hear their stories. I believe all these tops came from auctions. In case you were wondering – I paid between $10 and $30 for them. I love a good deal. –Betsy

2 thoughts on “A Little Eye Candy for your Week

  1. Wow – these are beautiful and quite detailed. Wonder what made them not get fully completed? I have a few old UFOs — purchased at estate sales or yard sales — 2 were from my grandma — I have one that I am considering building a frame and hang in my stairwell that goes 2 stories. I have a thought that every wall should have a quilt – right now a few sit in a basket in my sewing area — maybe for inspiration from years past?

    Like

Leave a Reply

