It’s Throw-Back Thursday (TBT Quilt #6)

For today’s TBT, I present you with a Daffodil quilt picture. The original picture was taken in 1991. There is no indication when this quilt was made but I am guessing the 1930s.

If you look at this quilt from a distance you will see a secondary design. I think it’s pretty neat.

TBT Quilt #6
 Vintage Daffodil Quilt

Vintage Daffodil Quilt, circa 1930s. Purchased at auction in Crestline, Ohio, July 1991.

Here are the stats for the Daffodil quilt.

Size: N/A

Date: None

Description:
None

Bought from: bought at auction in Crestline, OH in July 1991.

Bought for: $190.00 and sold it for $290.00

I know – almost no information about this quilt. I have a theory. That theory is that mom sold this quilt almost immediately. That being said, she does have a photo of it so I’m not sure how long she may have had it to be able to do that. It’s possible that someone from the same auction purchased the quilt from her at the auction. I’ve seen it happen. A person makes an offer, usually with cash, and out the item goes with someone else. As for the picture, it’s possible she might have taken the picture at the auction. I’ll never know on this one.

If you look at the picture just right, you can see a secondary design. I love it when that happens.

Could this have been a quilt kit? Anyone familiar enough with those to make a guess? I’m thinking this quilt probably dates from the 30s.

Don’t forget to post your comments, share, Pin, Tweet or post to Facebook, etc. If you have a picture you want me to post, email it to me and I’ll get it up.

Thanks for reading! …Betsy
 

Leave a Reply

