Meet Liz Trimble

Liz is going to be teaching a wallhanging class, Snowflurries using Studio 180’s Rapid Fire Lemoyne Star Ruler.  It is an awesome ruler and Liz is a phenomenal teacher.  I feel very fortunate to have Liz teaching at O’Susannah’s.  I asked her to write a little blurb about the Rapid Fire Lemoyne Star Ruler and here’s what she said:

Why I love this ruler:

I fell in love with the Lemoyne Star block early in my quilting career, but I didn’t love how they were constructed: cutting diamonds (bias edges to worry about!), drawing lines on the fabric (never straight!), and Y seams (yikes!!). And I was never thrilled with the end result – some of my seam intersections were a little off, one or two star points disappeared into the seam allowance. Then I learned about Deb Tucker and her Rapid Fire Lemoyne Star ruler, and it has enabled me to make perfect blocks every time.

One of the trademarks of Deb’s Rapid Fire tools is that she has you start with pieces that are slightly oversized, and then you use the ruler to trim the units down at several points during the process. The result is perfect intersections and perfect points – very satisfying!!

You too, can fall in love with this ruler.  Take Liz’s class on Saturday, October 11, 2014.

Leave a Reply

